It’s News Day Tuesday!

Extra! Extra! James Cameron knows how to make some money!

Surprising no one, Avatar destroyed DVD and Blu-Ray records with its release on Earth Day. I’m curious to see if Pandora holds up on my (admittedly awesome) 2D television. (Read my Avatar review here.)

The internet’s abuzz with news of a new 3D sequel to The Ring. Why anyone cares is a mystery to me.

Bryan Singer and Usual Suspects writer Christopher McQuarrie are reuniting for Jack the Giant Killer. Sometimes this team is flawless. Sometimes they make Valkyrie.

Neil Marshall (whose The Descent and Dog Soldiers were both on my Top 50 Horror Movies of the Decade list) is teaming up with Sam Raimi! YES! See a clip of Marshall discussing their project Burst here. (Read my review of Raimi’s Drag Me to Hell, my favorite horror movie of 2009, here.)

Get a first peek at Jonah Hex, the Vertigo comics adaptation by Warner Bros. starring Josh Brolin, Megan Fox and MALKOVIIIICH!

Buzzfeed’s got a supersweet mash-up of this summer’s movie trailers!

Bloody Disgusting had a few words with horror producer Brad Fuller on the new Nightmare, The Birds, Monster Squad, Butcherhouse Chronicles and the untitled Ouija project.

Fango’s got a summary and clip of Romero’s Survival of the Dead.

Screenwriter Eric Heisserer is everywhere lately, including the new Nightmare and the upcoming remake of John Carpenter’s The Thing. io9 interviewed him and got some scoop.

Oh yeah, and Heisserer is ALSO responsible for the upcoming Final Destination 5. So, homeboy is to blame for every unoriginal sequel and remake genre project scheduled for the next three years. I’m surprised he’s not writing The Ring 3D.

Shia LaBeouf hates the Transformers franchise as much as we do. (Read my post on Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen here.)

Some more confusing non-intel about Christopher Nolan’s Inception here.

There’s some major scoop in the transcript of the Iron Man 2 press conference, and 3 new clips. I’m actually avoiding all of it so I can be totally virgin-eyed NEXT THURSDAY SQUEEE!

Woah! Martha Kent and Perry White are DATING? (I mean, I know that Annette O’Toole and Michael McKean are married in real life. I’m talking about the show here.) Also, Martha’s rocking some silver locks. I can’t wait to see her again!

There’s a new Stephen King series coming to SyFy! Haven is based on King’s novella The Colorado Kid and will star Emily Rose. The pilot will be directed by Adam Kane.

For a complete archive of all previous News Day Tuesday entries by date, and all movie and television reviews by title, go here.

Review Preview:

Tomorrow! Stephen King’s Dolan’s Cadillac!

Next Wednesday! The new Nightmare on Elm Street!

Next Friday! Iron Man 2!!!!

4 Responses to “It’s News Day Tuesday!”

  1. that summer movie montage GAVE ME GOOSEBUMPS!!! then again, most montages do, esp. when set to DRAMATIC! OPERA! DRUM! MUSIC!

    I CANNOT BELIEVE IRON MAN 2 IS ALMOST HEEEEEEERE!!!

  2. I . . . do not want to see that chick from the Ring crawling out at me in three-dimensions. Two dimensions was gross enough.

  3. I think I’m the only one who doesn’t get pumped for summer movies. I can’t stay awake for summer movies. I think there is something wrong with me, but put in slow moving British drivel and you’ve got me.

    I am pretty excited to see people explode in 3-D. I will not make the same mistake I did for drag me to hell. I ordered mac n’ cheese, and it makes squishing sounds. That does not mix with gory horror.

    I imagine that Eric Heisserer has a hard time getting dates. Scratch that, I HOPE that Eric Heisserer has a hard time getting dates.

  4. It makes me like Shia more knowing his feelings toward the Transformers fanchise. I’m sure the first one was fun to make but at this point there’s no reason to keep going.

    I don’t know, I want to care about The Ring 3-D but I have a hard time. 3-D does sound tempting…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

