It’s News Day Tuesday!

Extra! Extra! Marla's face to melt in tragic explosion of awesomeness tonight!

YES! That’s right! I’m seeing Piranha 3D this very evening and I’m CRAZY! EXCITED! Reviews are crazy good, box office numbers are decent and a sequel’s already in the works!

x-men first classJanuary Jones

Loads of casting news for Matthew Vaughn’s X-Men: First Class here, including the news that Mad Men‘s January Jones will play the ultimate ice queen and forever Marla girl crush Emma Frost. Jones certainly has the right look, but I’m not convinced she can actually act. Maybe there’s more than petulant Betty to Jones’s repertoire. I hope so, because I REALLY don’t want this movie to screw up Emma Frost. Read my review of Vaughn’s Kick-Ass here.

deathly hallowsresident evilnever let me goAW_Title w-Disney_w

io9 gives us a great preview of all the fall genre movies. I’m so excited about some of these!!! And markedly less so about others. What are your thoughts, readers?

walking dead

AUGHHH!!!! SO EXCITED!!!!!!!! AMC has revealed that The Walking Dead premiere date is October 31st. Halloweeeeen! You can check out the awe-inspiring trailer here.

futurama science

Oh how I love the geeks over at Futurama. A writer for the show created a brand new math theorem just to use it as a plot device. Thanks for the link, Mr. Marla!

machete

Robert Rodriguez and Danny Trejo talk about Machete at the link.

undying

The teaser art and synopsis for Kurt Russell genre vehicle Undying is intriguing. Also, Kurt Russell’s hot and I miss him on my movie screen, ya heard?

the dead

I totally dig the trailer for African zombie flick The Dead. What say you?

all you need is kill

Doug Liman (The Bourne Identity, Gowill direct time-travel battle film All You Need is Kill from the Japanese novel by Hiroshi Sakurazaka.

the avengers

Joss Whedon’s determined to make me love him more every day. He declares he will find a way to have more strong woman characters in The Avengers than just Scar Jo’s Black Widow.

Good week for news, no? Need more? Check out the archives index for all the news and reviews you can use!

Review Preview:

piranha

TOMORROW, BISHES!!!!!!!

4 Responses to “It’s News Day Tuesday!”

  1. PIRANHA 3D!!! I’ll save my squeeing for your actual review.

    Oh, Joss Whedon. Just when I think I’ve quit you, you pull me back in.

  2. As far as upcoming fall and winter movies, I think Tron and HP are at the top of my list. Of course, those are probably at the top of a lot of lists right now.

    Is it just me or does the Undying poster look a lot like the Inception poster?

    And go Joss Wheedon. He loves his strong female characters.

  3. “all you need is kill” = BEST TITLE EVER.

    but wait, january jones as emma frost? seriously? NO. the woman doesn’t have a sassy bone in her body.

  4. The Walking Dead is the one series that gives me hope for the future of television. And frankly, I’d pretty much given up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

