It’s News Day Tuesday!

presskid by you.

I’m gonna make this one brief, folks!

In a huge, exciting Alamo Drafthouse surprise, Leonard Nimoy showed up at Austin’s Paramount Theater last night to hand over the exclusive world premiere of the new Star Trek movie to an audience of thrilled fans who thought they were there to watch Wrath of Khan.

Pics up from the first days of filming on Iron Man 2.

paul premeire

Smallville alums Laura Vandervoort and Tahmoh Penikett (also from Battlestar Galactica and Dollhouse) are joining Alan Cumming for a new Sci-Fi/Sy Fy Network tv movie.

Terminator Salvation is apparently officially rated PG-13.

kal penn

Thanks to Jerry for a heads up about the staggeringly awesome news that Kal Penn (Kumar) is taking a break from acting to work for the Obama administration!

As he previously hinted, Jackie Earle Haley is now officially on board as the new Freddy! This genius casting has me actually interested in an unnecessary remake!

gb3logo by you.

More Ramis talk about Ghostbusters 3. Everybody’s in, apparently!

No Fango chopping list up today. See You Next Tuesday!

6 Responses to “It’s News Day Tuesday!”

  1. OMG, I mean, I care little to not at all about the new Star Trek Movie (sorry, but JJ Abrams can suck my BALLZ) but that is the most awesome surprise for a movie audience!! I cannot imagine how much they must have all geeked out! I bet those trekkies were like those fat women on the Oprah Show who just found out that there are keys to new Escalades under their seats. (No offense to fat women or Escalades) Of course, I bet there were a few comic-book-guy-esque people there who are Enterprise purists and wanted to see Wrath of Khan more than they wanted to see the new one. Sorry for the longest comment ever, but this reminds me of when Joel and I passed James Caan coming out of the Luxor in Vegas and some guy behind us saw him and yelled out “Caaaaaaann!!” a la that Simpsons episode. Oh, and Tahmoh Brundicatt or whatever his name is, I knew that he looked super familiar, and now I realize it’s from BSG. He has the WORST complexion, yuck!

  2. xymarla Says:

    Haha, yes, the fans, they geeked. Sarah in particular. And they loved the movie! You’re hilarious with the Oprah comparison. “I’VE GOT VERMONT MAPLE SCO-OONES!”

    CAAAAAAAAN! Man, I love him.

  3. yeah, jon, i GEEKED. you can read my dorked-out reaction on le blog: poshdeluxe.com.

    I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT GHOSTBUSTERS III!! FINALLY! CONFIRMATION!!! so what what do we call it for short? GB3? i need something quicker to type than the whole name cos MY FINGERS ARE TOO EXCITED EVEN.

  4. I think it should be GB3-D. Imagine Slimer coming out of the screen at you. I think that would be something awesome.

    I don’t know if I should be worried or not about Terminator being only PG-13. I mean, it seems like today’s PG-13’s are like the mid-90’s R so it could be ok.

    That’s really exciting about the Star Trek premier. How the hell does Tim do it?

  5. OK, now that I’ve been name-checked in an article, I guess I should start actually leaving comments.

    First of all, while today’s pg-13 IS basically mid-90’s R, it’s still not the equivalent of 1980s/early 90’s R, especially when we’re talking about the R rating on Arnold movies. I skipped T3, but unless this pg-13 can still offer me something comparable to the Arnold entrance in T2, where he gets a cigar put out on his bare chest, knife-pins a guy to a pool table, and tosses another guy onto an industrial stove, ALL WHILE NAKED, I’ll be disappointed.

    Also, GB3-D is brilliant shorthand, and almost certainly accurate. The movie’s not supposed to come out for 2-3 years, by which time 3-D will be the new standard, at least for big-budget summer movies. Holy crap, Slimer in 3-D is gonna rock my world!

    Finally, can I just say that Kal Penn, already the most likeable actor of his generation (he’s like a young, brown, well-adjusted Robert Downey, Jr.!)is now officially my hero! He’s made a 2 year minimum commitment to work for $40k a year, live in Washington D.C., and take on no acting roles, because he is awesome and wants to/can make a difference. Plus, he has 2 degrees from UCLA and a certification in International Security from Stanford. Now he’s in a position to make sure no one else has to eat those awful cockmeat sandwiches!

  6. Hear! Hear!

Leave a Reply

