It’s News Day Tuesday!

presskid by you.

Dig it!

Here’s a clip from True Blood’s season 2.

nye incidents

Dark Castle’s picking up Whitley Strieber’s aliens-but-somehow-based-on-true-events graphic novel The Nye Incidents; Todd Lincoln will direct.

hp

Surely by now you’ve all seen the staggeringly, intensely awesome new Half-Blood Prince trailer? If not, get thee to Hulu and prepare to be face-melted. Nice guns, Ron! Now STOP MAKING HERMIONE CRY.

The darling Downey Jr: “So I actually have taken Iron Man 2 probably more seriously than any movie I’ve ever done, which is appropriately ridiculous for Hollywood.” Glad to hear it, dear.

There are two more names in the ever-revolving door of cast members attached to Zack Snyder’s Sucker Punch.

fd43d

Warner Bros. released stills from 3 of their upcoming genre releases, Orphan, Whiteout and the highly-anticipated-by-Marla and AWESOMELY titled Final Destination: Death Trip 3D. Thank you, Alamo Drafthouse, for getting some kick-ass new 3D technology in plenty of time for all the FD43D eyeball-sploding!

wrong turn 2

In other endless-franchises-that-I-guiltily-enjoy news, the trailer for Wrong Turn 3: Left for Dead made me laaaaaugh.

Here’s a long, juicy interview with Joss about Dollhouse, Dr. Horrible and various and sundry.

spike3

Joss alum James Marsters is in a new SyFy (that still looks so weird) original movie about alien bugs. Uhm, yeah. Sweet?

However, there’s some info here about SyFy’s new branding game plan and it sounds fairly respectable. Plus, they’re doing a Tin Man treatment to Alice in Wonderland with Alice! Of course the timing is iffy with the whole Tim Burton thing, but I loved Tin Man!

Footage from Rob Zombie’s H2 was on Entertainment Tonight. Interesting format choice, Zombie.

LovelyBones

You can see stills from Peter Jackson’s The Lovely Bones here. Heaven looks puuuurdy.

 tokyo gore police

Holy shizz, y’all. Check out the aaaaaaawesome trailer from Tokyo Gore Police director and Marla bestie Yoshihiro Nishimura (seriously! We’ve partied. I don’t like to brag.) for his upcoming probably-never-distributed-here Vampire Girl vs. Frankenstein Girl. Warning: this trailer is not for the squeamish. Or, as my friend Henri would say, for those of you who hate awesome.

hellboy_p1

Here’s an interview with the utterly delightful and superb in every way Ron Perlman. His top 5 movies are surprising! Ron, dude, you should know—I, too, love Frank Capra. Let’s hang out!

my_bloody_valentine_3d

Franchise-happy studios aren’t making a sequel to My Bloody Valentine 3D? I find this news surprisingly, if not at all affecting.

trick r treat

The trailer for Michael Dougherty’s upcoming Trick ‘r Treat is fairly cool, starring genre darling Anna Paquin and always-creepy Dylan Baker. A question: why is Tahmoh Penikett in every single movie or television show I watch ever? I just had to give his growly ass a tag.

Finally, Fango’s DVD Chopping List.

Review Preview:

I’m going to kick off a Stuart Gordon retrospective this week with Dagon and his Masters of Horror episode “The Black Cat.” Dig it!

5 Responses to “It’s News Day Tuesday!”

  1. Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.

  2. ha ha, i didn’t realize yr true blood poster was from season 1, so when i saw “september 1” i was like WTFFFFFF!!!!! but it’s fine, everything’s fine, it’s still starting in june, ok, i’m fine. whew. nothing to see here, nothing to see.

    robert downey jr, why are you SO GREAT?!!

  3. Oooh, I can’t stop watching the Harry Potter trailer! I’m all “In your FACE, Cho Chang! It’s Ginny’s turn now!” Also, I agree. Don’t make Hermione cry, Ron!

  4. Suck it, Cho!

  5. Lots of good stuff this week. I’ve been a little behind on the times and so this is my first viewing of the HP trailer. Woah. It looks pretty amazing. Just how I imagined it in the book.

    I think the thing on Newsday Tuesday that I’m most excited about is the Vampire Girl vs. Frankenstein Girl trailer. That. Looks. A. Mazing. Tokyo Gore Police definitely didn’t disappoint in the crazy effects and blood department. Looks like this one doesn’t either.

    I’ll probably see Wrong Turn 3. I’ve seen the first one (but not the second one) and really enjoyed it. It has Eliza and this of course doesn’t. Looks like they took it to the next level for #3. Maybe too far though.

Leave a Reply

