It’s Recommends Day Wednesday!

Due to THIS atrocious news, I wanted to do a Recommends Day of the outstanding Motel Hell, which everyone should watch immediately and further honor by NEVER watching the blanched, watered-down recrap they’re planning to shovel down our throats. But, well, I already did that. So I decided to recommend a movie that includes another kind of Motel Hell, the Seven Doors Hotel featured in Lucio Fulci’s extraordinary The Beyond.

the beyond poster by you.

Oh, The Beyond. How you freaked me out when I watched you by myself in my little efficiency apartment, drinking Franzia and eating a Lean Pocket on a sunny Sunday afternoon. You caught me rather off guard, you know that?

The Seven Doors Hotel is built on one of the 7 gates to hell, and Liza (Fulci regular Catriona MacColl) inherits it. Turns out, “one of the 7 gates to hell” is not as attractive a selling point as one might think. Zombies, blind ghosts, and FACE-EATING TARANTULAS abound. Yes, you heard that right. Face-eating tarantulas. THIS MOVIE IS AWESOME.

the beyond 3 by you.

Fulci’s vision is incohesive, surreal and cruelly beautiful.  The film snakes in and out of eerie and horrifying tableaux, threaded carefully together through Fulci’s fantasy of hell on earth. The manual effects are breathtaking, and the cinematography is spectacular. There’s an exceptional amount of blood and violence wrapped delicately in lush imagery and lighting. The Beyond is haunting, vicious, and groovy.

the beyond 2 by you.

It’s also not exactly Fulci’s most accessible film, but it’s absolutely his best.  If you’re looking to take a walk on the giallo side (and you absolutely must! or I declare our friendship dead!), I recommend starting with Argento’s Suspiria and Fulci’s The Beyond. They just don’t get better than this.

the beyond 1 by you.

3 Responses to “It’s Recommends Day Wednesday!”

  1. I really want to see The Beyond. I’ve heard lots of cool things about it. Plus face-eating anyhing is pretty awesome as you’ve established on this blog.

    Motel Hell remake? Ok, this is it. I give up. Why? What us their big reason for remaking it—and it better not be money. Don’t you dare say money. Man, people suck.

  2. I am so happy you’ve recommended this movie! The Beyond, and Fulci in general, present some fo the most insanely horrifying and beautifully photographed violence EVER. I like that you show the lead-in for one of Fulci’s famous “eye torture” sequences, as well. The man seemed to believe that nothing is more horrifying than slow, explicit, eye-violence, and he may be right.

    Speaking of Fulci, I just re-watched Zombie, one of his other strong efforts, and if you haven’t seen it, OMG. There is a sequence in that movie unlike anything else I have ever seen. Anywhere. Ever. Words can’t really do it justice, so I’ll just say this: ZOMBIE VS. SHARK, UNDERWATER. Where they found an actor who can don heavy zombie makeup, hold his breath for 2 minutes, and actually wrestle with an actual full-grown shark, WITHOUT SAFETY GEAR OR OXYGEN TANKS, I will never know, but they did it and you can see it in the movie. Unbelievable.

    Finally, I give Marla extra props for even mentioning the name Suspiria. Those who know me and/or have heard the music I write with my quartet have some hint of how important that movie is to me….

  3. FACE EATING TARANTULAS AUUGHHHHHHHHHH

Leave a Reply

