It’s News Day Tuesday!

Hello film lovers! I’m taking a brief respite from my voracious consumption of the new Stephen King joint Under the Dome to bring you a hurried and distracted NDTD. Then let me get back to my book, for god’s sake!

I find myself bankrupt of words powerful enough to express my profound relief at this news: the imprudent remake of Oldboy directed by Stephen Spielberg and starring Will Smith has been squashed. Guys, I actually like Stephen Spielberg. I totally LOVE Will Smith. But this was the worst fucking idea ever conceived in Hollywood, the city that is bringing us White Chicks 2. Oh by the by, Will’s now going to be starring in the adaptation of Flowers for Algernon so…there’s that.

Oh man, this news is so geeksweet I can barely type it for spazzing! PAM GRIER IS JOINING THE CAST OF SMALLVILLE AS AMANDA WALLER. Dudes! The casting is so epic and the plot implications so thrilling that I absolutely cannot WAIT for her arc to begin. ZOMG!!

Have your grain of salt at the ready: casting rumors regarding Spider-Man 4 are swirling about, namely involving Dylan Baker finally taking the step from Dr. Curt Connors to The Lizard, and Rachel McAdams possibly donning the sexy cat burglar suit as The Black Cat. Both rumors are nebulous; both make me extremely happy.

mila kuniswinona_rydernatalieportman

Winona Ryder is now in talks to join Mila Kunis and Natalie Portman in Darren Aronofsky’s ballet thriller Black Swan, proving entirely accurate my once-posted theory that Aronofsky is simply casting all of the attractive brunettes he would like to see wearing leotards. No judging here! Get yours, Darren.

Review Preview:

Yeah, yeah, you’ve heard it all before.  But you guys! I promise!

5 Responses to “It’s News Day Tuesday!”

  1. I would like to open a celebratory bottle of champers at that Oldboy news. Unfortunately, I drank all the booze on site everytime I read they’d be remaking it, so I have no booze left.

    This is a quandry.

  2. Pam Grier??? Whoa pretty much sums it up. Plus, um, the “Flowers For Algernon” movie? Really, Will? Finally, Rachel McAdams as Cat Lady? Who’s been reading my diary???

  3. I swear on all that is sacred (primarily, the failure of Hollywood to remake already-awesome movies), I will post that damn Brood review this weekend, IF NOT SOONER. So it is wriitten, so shall it be done.

  4. i gotta think of a name for the sickness that inevitably precedes TEABS… TMABS? (M = middle)

  5. This Johnny-come-lately gives a rousing applause over the news of Oldboy (and thus disturbs his officemate–sorry man).

    Pam Grier is awesome! I cannot wait to see what she does with the role. Personally I’d be fine if she just walked around to a 70’s style soundtrack but that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

