Link Drop!

I was planning on doing a Recommends Day Wednesday post today, but the internet is so aflutter with NEWS MADE ESPECIALLY FOR ME, I just had to share in my mirth.

So, I absolutely adore Maleficient from Sleeping Beauty.  I’m sort of COMPLETELY OBSESSED with her. She’s like the Alexis Carrington of Disney!

That’s me on the left, battling Harry Potter in an epic clash of magical good versus evil.

Therefore this news that Tim Burton is eyeing a project wherein Maleficent gets the Wicked treatment is causing unprecedented levels of geekery ’round these parts. Hello, Wicked is my favorite novel. Maleficent is my favorite villain. Tim Burton…is not my favorite director, but he’s pretty ideal for this material. Squee! Thanks for the heads up, Kelly!

And in ALMOST AS EXCITING NEWS, Annette O’Toole, aka Martha Kent,  is returning to Smallville! Oh and what’s that? There’s more? O’Toole’s real-life husband, the ineffable Michael McKean, is returning as Perry White! HOLY CRAP!!!

I love the Season 3 episode “Perry” and I’ve hoped for a long time that McKean would reprise his role and bring the legendary Perry White back to my favorite show. And of course I’m a huge fan of O’Toole’s portrayal of Martha Kent—so much so that, to celebrate this news, I’m planning to try a deliciously frozen version of her eponymous cocktail with my new blender tonight! Join me, won’t you, friends?

(read the Smallville drinking game and check out the recipe for the Martha Kent cocktail here. And you can read my Smallville Season 9 report card here.)

7 Responses to “Link Drop!”

  1. Ha! You used that picture! Harry Potter remains skeptical of Tim Burton’s ability to make a proper Maleficent movie. Who wants to bet $20 that Helena Bonham Carter-Burton stars? Course, now that I think about it, that may actually work.

  2. Dude. That would TOTALLY work.

  3. i really hope the movie answers the question, “where did her horned hat thingie come from?”

  4. Yeah, that Tim Burton project is made just for you. Hopefully something will cone of it and it doesn’t just fizzle like so many projects.

    Also, Smallville! Great news, I hope they have a scene together.

  5. So… I’m a week behind, but my head has officially swollen so large I cannot fit in my office. I am officially a celebrity, I made it on Marla’s blog!
    :)

  6. My blog is made more awesome by your presence! :)

  7. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your site, how can
    i subscribe for a blog web site? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast
    offered bright clear idea

Leave a Reply

