It’s News Day Tuesday!

Extra! Extra! Marla is Officially the Crummiest Blogger on the Internet!

So I pinky swear to get back to some REAL REVIEWS on old DIH next week, but in the meantime, check out the archives and dig the scoop!

hot tub time machine

I haven’t yet seen Hot Tub Time Machine, but obviously it’s already my favorite film of 2010. So the news that director Steve Pink is grabbing the genre reins to bring us Werewolves of Reseda, described as “Teen Wolf meets The Hangover” sounds, well, probably terrible but possibly awesome! 

  

So many new, exciting details are being revealed about the Wizarding World of Harry Potter! Pics. A description of the world’s most mind-blowingly magnificent ride. JK’s involvement. The portraits! Dumbledore’s office! Honeydukes! GEEKGASM ALERT. 

michael rosenbaum 

Yes! In likely conjunction with Michael McKean’s return to Smallville as Perry White, the highly excellent Blu Mankuma (Supernatural, Tin Man) will guest star as Daily Planet owner Franklin Stern, alongside Gil Bellows’ Maxwell Lord. Michael Rosenbaum turns to Twitter to confirm what those of us who are honest with ourselves already know: he will NOT be returning to Smallville as Lex Luthor. Instead, he’s doing THIS, the most amazing idea ever! He’s creating and starring (with Jonathan Silverman) in a show about a washed-up sci-fi TV star whose only income is from crazed fan conventions! SIMPLY BRILLIANT. Oh yeah, and finally on the Smallville news front (it is so weird to see this show in the news all the time lately. Way to catch up, America!), show creators Al and Miles are suing the WB

 

Okay, I’m beginning to get over my Blake Lively as Carol Ferris grudge for Green Lantern, because in addition to the stellar cast of Ryan Reynolds, Tim Robbins and Peter Sarsgaard, Bad Ass Angela Bassett has been impeccably cast as Amanda Waller! This news follows right behind the equally brilliant casting of Pam Grier as Amanda Waller on Smallville. Very, very cool.   

 

Oh yeah! I was already super pumped that Frank Darabont is directing an adaptation of one of my favorite comics, The Walking Dead, but it’s soooo much better that it’s going to be a mini-series on AMC! As I’ve said before, I’m always pro mini-series over feature films that have to leave so much out, and that’s especially the case when adapting a celebrated comic series. AND it’s airing during AMC’s Fearfest, two weeks in October when I never leave my couch! (Read my review of Frank Darabont’s The Mist and understand why I’m so excited about this series.)

godzilla

It’s about damn time! Godzilla’s finally coming back to the big screen, thankfully having nothing to do with the bullshit catastrophe of 1998. The Variety article is so polite about that terrible movie! Sure, “fell short of expectations” is ONE way to describe it.

maleficentangelina jolie

I knew there was far too much good news this week. Angelina Blahlie’s name is being discussed as the lead for Tim Burton’s Maleficent, an upcoming film which so delighted me when I first heard news of it. And yet. Listen, Maleficent is my faaaaavorite. FAVORITE. I know that Jolie can act, but girlfriend has NO sense of humor. Maleficent needs a wicked sense of humor! If this role doesn’t have Emily Blunt’s name written all over it, I don’t know what does.

orson welles

UGH, this news is creepy and gross. Drac Studios is bringing you the latest in exploitation technology! A recently discovered recording of Orson Welles reading a Christmas story about Santa’s dog will be the narrative basis of an upcoming family film. I cannot believe that Orson would approve. Ew! 

 

And in other groan-worthy news, Bryan Singer is no longer directing X-Men: First Class because Fox is just OMG! way too excited! about the script (from Singer’s original treatment) to wait until he’s finished with Jack the Giant Killer. Smart move, Fox! Remember the LAST X-Men movie Bryan Singer didn’t direct? *shudder* 

 

Check out the new red band trailer for Romero’s Survival of the Dead!  

Review Preview: 

 

Next week! Yeah yeah, you’ve heard it before. But I pinky swore this time! In the meantime, check out the rest of the David Cronenberg Retrospective.

9 Responses to “It’s News Day Tuesday!”

  1. That’s a lot of good news packed in with bad news. Angelina Jolie- NO way. And I’m with you on this one, I don’t think Welles would want to be narrating what will probably turn out to be your same-old-same-old, annually cranked-out, family Christmas feel-good Hollywood snooze. Boo.

  2. i could be SO down for this werewolves of reseda business. one question, though: WILL IT FEATURE ABS? i’m sorry but i kind of need all werewolves from now on to sport amazing abs.

    totes agree with the emily blunt casting for maleficent. she would be PERFECT!!!!! seriously, why are casting agents still getting paid cos we are doing their work FOR FREE.

  3. I’m really excited for The Walking Dead! It’s actually a physical pain that I have to wait until October. This is like Christmas Eve lasting FOREVER.

    I’m with Jill on Angelina Jolie. Stop casting her for everything, Hollywood!!! She has big lips and she’ll show cleavage no matter what the role, WE GET IT.

  4. Zombies are becoming reality via H1N1 shots. Be prepared. These ARE the end days.

  5. I will even counter and say that Jolie isn’t even that good of an actress. Blunt is a perfect pic. Give her some shoe lifts and let’s get on with it!

    Also, how awesome does Survival of the Dead and The Walking Dead look?! Oh MAN, I’m excited!

  6. I maintain that young Angelina (along with young Marlon Brando) was the sexiest thing to walk the face of the earth, maybe ever. That being said, she’s always had a limited range (though she’s great within that range), and she’s never shown the slightest hint of possessing a sense of humor or any comic timing.

    I guess what I’m saying is that Emily Blunt would be PERFECT in this role. My god what a great idea. I’m backing the Blunt!

  7. I’m so glad everyone’s on the Blunt bandwagon! CASTING DIRECTORS: ACTIVATE!

  8. It’s nice to see Michael Rosenbaum out doing new things. I was hoping Smallville wasn’t the last place we saw him. I think his show has definite potential if I can remember to watch it. I can’t ever seem to catch shows and I doubt this is going to be available via Hulu or bit torrent.

    I’m officially starting a group trip. Who wants to go to HP Land? Those pics (plus the others you had a couple months ago) look really sweet.

    Poor Orson Welles. That’s all I have to say about that.

  9. xymarla Says:

    Thanks, Forrest!

    Dude, if you take me to Harry Potter Land, I will totally reimburse you in a PG13-rated manner!

Leave a Reply

