It’s News Day Tuesday!

 

Extra! Extra! News and Stuff and Things!

  Welcome to News Day Tuesday! Hot off the presses, from their blogs to my blog to you!
piranha 

Eli Roth talks about the 3D technology for Piranha. We’ll see if it lives up to the eyeball-melting visuals of Step Up 3D! I have no doubt that it will live up to the story, in that it will not have one.  

i spit on your grave

 You can see the trailer for the remake of I Spit On Your Grave here. Yeah, it looks pretty cool, but mostly I’m excited about seeing if it holds up in Remake v. Original. Okay, I’m also excited that it’s pulled a no-rating for a theatrical release.  

zombieland poster 

Zombieland director Ruben Fleischer has a secret genre project in the works! That sounds so exciting! Read my review of Zombieland here.  

red state 

We *finally* get some real details on Kevin Smith’s horror flick Red State, starring ubiquitous scream king (duke? prince?) Kyle Gallner, among other folks.  

pride_prejudice_zombies1w 

Natalie Portman gives a long overdue update on the status of the adaptation of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, the novel that changed my life through the simple equation of combining everything I love in one book. 

nemesis 

This is interesting: Tony Scott is attached to direct the film adaptation of Mark Millar’s gritty little comic Nemesis.  

devil's backbone 

Antonio Trashorras, who co-wrote The Devil’s Backbone with Guillermo del Toro, is having a script developed called Callejon, and it sounds like it could be pretty cool. Backbone has one of the greatest screenplays in recent horror history, so I’m definitely game.  

green lantern poster 

Woah, The Green Lantern sequels are already totally in the works. Slow down, fellas! We have yet to decide that your movie does not suck!  

x-men first class 

Matthew Vaughn talks X-Men: First Class, saying that the inspiration will be the first two X-Men movies, which is good, as they’re the only ones that aren’t terrible. You can read my review of Vaughn’s Kick-Ass here and of X-Men Origins: Wolverine here.  

That’s it for today, folks. Check out the archives index for more News Day Tuesday and reviews.

Review Preview:  

Next Week!

  piranha

4 Responses to “It’s News Day Tuesday!”

  1. Hmmm, Callejon looks like it could be interesting. If it’s anything (quality-wise) like Devil’s Backbone, I’ll see it.

    And I defintely agree. Can’t we wait to see if Green Lantern sucks first? It could seriously go eithe way. Let’s just pull back on the reins a bit. Stupid Hollywood. Everyone wants a franchise.

  2. PIRANHA 3D!!! It’s like Finding Nemo only YOU ARE GONNA GET EATEN!!

    I, frankly, could not sit through both horrifying rape scenes in order to do a remake vs original of I Spit on Your Grave. You have a stronger stomach than I, marla.

  3. Word, Erin. Rape is one of the few things I can’t watch. Maybe I was just too disturbed by Salo.

    I am, however, v v excited for Callejon. I mean, it means “alleyway,” and what’s scarier than that?!

  4. WHY HAVEN’T THEY ALREADY STARTED FILMING P&P&Z?!!! WHAT IS THE HOLD UP? MY EYEBALLS NEED TO SEE IT. NOW.

Leave a Reply

