Is Black Swan the Perfect Blue Remake We’ve Been Waiting For?

Guys, I have a new column over at Badass Digest! I AM SO EXCITED! My first post is about the similarities of Aronofsky’s Black Swan and the 1998 anime Perfect Blue. CHECK IT OUT and leave a sister a comment, yo!

11 Responses to “Is Black Swan the Perfect Blue Remake We’ve Been Waiting For?”

  1. Congrats to your first post on Badass Digest – as a fellow film geek slash closet otaku – I appreciate (as well as find myself now filled with needless self torment for not drawing this comparison on my own ;) the research that went into the piece. Keep it up! -Ross

  2. why thank you, Ross! Much appreciated.

  3. Megan (no h) Says:

    I love Perfect Blue! I was excited to see Black Swan, but now I’m even more jazzed. Great post!

    PS. I tried to post at the other site, but it tried to make me be a real person :/

  4. I like comments here better, since it’s my baby :)

  5. I’ve been wanting to see this since I saw the trailer when I went to see Let Me In. When the trailer began, I thought, “Oh…Natalie Portman. Yes. This looks good.” Then I saw ballet, and I thought, “MEHHH.” Then I saw Darren Aronofsky, and I thought this had a lot of potential. Then the trailer concluded, and literally, all I was able to think was, “Perfect Blue.”

    Just saw this tonight (not having a car, it’s hard to see films not in wide release, even though Chicago is only a 45 minute drive away), and yup…it’s pretty much Perfect Blue. I’m not a HUGE anime fan, but Satoshi Kon is (was…he passed away semi-recently) my favorite anime director, mainly because his films/series are usually psychological thrillers. I’m still a bit undecided on what I thought of the film, but figured I’d post here to add to the sparse conversation. Found this by doing a google search for Black Swan Perfect Blue to see how many other people had made the connection. The topic I made at the message board I frequent is on the first google page under that search heading as well. It’s good to see others making the connections as well.

  6. Oh, and it’s not the RPG Maker one, not the Star Trek one.

    Sorry…couldn’t edit my comment. Check the topic out for interesting ongoing discussion of Black Swan and the relative merits of David Fincher’s films (we tend to go off-topic quite often).

  7. Thanks for the link! Glad to know I wasn’t the only one who thought “PERFECT BLUE!” as soon as I saw the Black Swan trailer.

  8. skyrim cheats…

    […]Is Black Swan the Perfect Blue Remake We’ve Been Waiting For? « Danny Isn't Here, Mrs. Torrance[…]…

  9. mmorpg…

    […]Is Black Swan the Perfect Blue Remake We’ve Been Waiting For? « Danny Isn't Here, Mrs. Torrance[…]…

  10. Thanks designed for sharing such a nice thought, article is good, thats
    why i have read it entirely

  11. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and
    it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you few interesting things or tips.
    Maybe you could write next articles referring to this
    article. I wish to read more things about it!

Leave a Reply

