It’s News Day Tuesday!

Extra! Extra! Time to get trashed on hurricanes and earn some beads!

 Happy News Day Fat Tuesday, everyone! 

 

Check out this interview with Linda Woolverton, wherein the screenwriter for Alice in Wonderland marvels at her own audacity. You can read more Alice soundbites from Tim Burton and Johnny Depp here

 

Sam Raimi hates giant squids as much as Zack Snyder does. Where’s the giant squid love, y’all?

  

Yay! Marla hero Kathryn Bigelow is set to direct an HBO pilot! (Check out my review of Bigelow’s Near Dark here.) 

defendor

Watch the pretty funny trailer for Defendor with Woody Harrelson, Elias Koteas and Kat Dennings. You know that cast intrigues you! (Thanks for the link, Posh!)

 

Chris Nolan kinda sorta confirms the third Batman movie and this article makes my heart all aflutter through the simple phrase: “Warner is expected to announce a DC slate in the coming months populated by characters like the Flash and Wonder Woman.” WONDER WOMAN LIVE ACTION MOVIE RIGHT! NOW! Enough screwing around with my emotions! (Read my review of the animated Wonder Woman movie here.) 

 

I would like to watch this movie now, please. 

 

Gizmodo has an easy guide explaining the different versions of 3D technology. 

 

There’s a new Frankenstein franchise in the works! No, not the awesome Dark Storm comic version I discussed two weeks ago. This one is from a Dean Koontz series set in modern day New Orleans, and also it sounds terrible. Furthermore, that pic of Koontz at the link is jacktacular. 

 

Scott Koser, writer of The Machinist, Amityville Horror (2005) and The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (2003) has been brought on board to write Vlad, the Dracula prequel. Koser is also co-writer of the upcoming The Crazies remake, which means Vlad has a good shot at being truly derivative! Yay!

 

As I reported last week, Steven Soderbergh’s Contagion has an A-list lineup with Matt Damon, Jude Law, Kate Winslet and Marion Cotillard all in talks to star, and now Gwyneth Paltrow is joining the cast?! 

 

Oh Eric Kripke, you have SOME WORDS TO EAT. From my boy AusielloSupernatural has been confirmed for a sixth season next year, despite Kripke’s many prior assurances to the contrary. Still no word on Smallville, which is puzzling. Here’s a theory: Smallville will get its own big announcement of a tenth and final season.

Review Preview:

I watched The Wolfman last night and laughed my ass off. Catch my review here tomorrow.

Scorcese’s Shutter Island FINALLY premieres this Friday! Look for my review next week.

cabin fever 2

Ti West’s Cabin Fever 2 is released to DVD today, and I’ll be reviewing it along with its predecessor (Eli Roth’s original Cabin Fever) next week, as well.

For all previous reviews by title and News Day Tuesday archives by date, go here.

7 Responses to “It’s News Day Tuesday!”

  1. You CANNOT TOP a giant squid– sorry. They are automatically going to be awesomer than any thing you could substitute, so this is indeed pretty lame news.

  2. Truer words have never been spoken, my friend.

  3. Truly, I feel that this blog is the ne plus ultra of internet writings. Verily, I find the stimulating content to be most gratifying in nature. I will immediately add you to my RSS feed and also tattoo the address on my thigh.

    J/K, marla, it’s really me!! (though all of that is also true)

    Is it sad that I’m over Alice in Wonderland before it even comes out? I just feel like I can write a review of the entire movie, in my sleep, possibly using nothing but a graphing calculater. lim n–>i tB = X

    in which
    n = Edward Scissorhands
    i = infinity
    tB = tim burton
    and x = my patience

    Did you read the Esquire profile of Roger Ebert? I totally cried at my desk. Tears of sadness. Sadness that I can’t be as awesome as Roger Ebert.

    http://www.esquire.com/print-this/roger-ebert-0310

  4. YES PLEASE WONDER WOMAN MOVIE RIGHT NOW!!!!!!

    ok but if they actually do decide to make the live action version… WHO WILL PLAY WONDER WOMAN? this question hurts my brain because DO NOT EFF THIS UP HOLLYWOOD. and by that i mean, IF YOU EVEN CONSIDER MEAGAN FOX I WILL KICK YOU IN THE FACE.

  5. Erin, hahaha, your fake spam comment is the best thing ever. Also, that Ebert profile KILLED ME. He is so amazing.

    Sarah, I’d like to believe they’d cast a semi-unknown as Wonder Woman, becuase so far I can’t think of anyone huge who would be perfect for it!

  6. Yes, that Ebert profile was absolutely, heart-breakingly amazing. What a man. Random Ebert fact: I sat next to him at the premiere of Wristcutters: A Love Story, at Sundance 2006! I said hi to him and he nodded pleasantly at me, but didn’t say anything. Guess now I know why.

  7. I’m really curious about Defendor. I mean, the guy said it wasn’t bad and it wasn’t great, but it was entertaining. I can handle that.

    Man, that pic of Dean Kootz is pretty amazing. They invented the term hair helmet for styles like that. I think I’d look pretty good with one.

    Nice math Erin! I completely agree with you on Alice.

Leave a comment